top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIESsotoAssistants

By Sabrina for 1/2 ESO - Writing and Run-on Sentences

Hi everyone! With all this free time on our hands, I thought this would be a good time to practice your writing skills.



I've noticed that a lot of you have trouble with run-on sentences, which are sentences that contain more than one independent clause that are not connected properly. To remind you, an independent clause is a complete sentence that can stand alone and that represents a complete thought.


To fix run-on sentences, there are 3 options:


1. Separate clauses using punctuation, such as a period ( . ) or a comma ( , ).

2. Separate clauses using a conjunction, such as and, but, so, yet, because.

3. Rearrange the sentence by adding or removing words.


Let's look at the following example of a run-on sentence:

"He put on some sunscreen, the sun was so extremely hot, and he wanted to go inside."


“He put on some sunscreen” (1 st clause)


“the sun was so extremely hot” (2nd clause)


"he wanted to go inside” (3 rd clause)


Here's how we corrected the sentence:

"He put on some sunscreen because the sun was extremely hot. He wanted to go inside."


In the corrected sentence, we separated the 1st and 2nd clauses by using the conjunction “because”, and we removed the word “so”. We also separated the 2nd and 3rd clauses using a period.


Now here's what I would like you to do! Please correct all of the following run-on sentences, using the 3 options discussed above. Please send your answers to sabrina.pudlowski@iessoto.com and I will correct your answers.


**Don't forget to start your sentences with a capital letter and finish your sentences with a period. Have a great weekend!


1. My father and my mother and my sister are coming to dinner tonight.


2. I like learning English it makes me tired I want to visit the UK.


3. I love school, I love learning, my teacher is nice.


4. I like Tuesdays and Wednesdays and I like Fridays because the weekend starts on Friday.


5. When I get older I want a big family I like big families.

197 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page